top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

AVIONICS: Transponder Antenna Installation

Updated: Aug 28, 2019

I installed the Bob Archer Transponder Antenna in the rear of the fuselage just ahead of bulkhead B below the leading edge of the vertical stabilizer. This is a small antenna mounted on a phenolic isolation board but it is very rigid, so I needed to fabricate some standoffs to attach it to the aircraft.

Due to the extreme curvature of the rear fuselage/empennage, I had to custom fit the bracket system while contorting myself into the back of the airplane. Not fun! Ultimately, I got the complete assembly mounted within 2 degrees of centerline and well within tolerance for a quality transponder reading for ATC.

I will cable up the transponder antenna once I begin work on the panel.


File photo of the Bob Archer Transponder Antenna

Transponder Antenna installed on rear side wall of fuselage.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page