top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

PROPELLER: Received my Whirlwind Prop Today!

Today I received my Whirlwind Aviation 74RV Constant Speed prop. This is a 74" diameter composite prop with scimitar tips and nickel clad leading edges. The Jihostroj compact prop governor and 12" spinner were also included.


It took some time to settle on the prop type as I knew I wanted a Constant Speed prop, but the proper match to the motor required some additional investigation. You see, the 'stroked' engine throws more severe pulses out the prop blades, so a composite prop handles that best. Anything too long may exacerbate the issue, while too short a prop will reduce the overall performance. So the 74" proved to be the right answer. And I got a great show special from the Airventure special in July. And yes, it took this long to have it made and delivered!

Looking forward to adding this to the front of the motor once mounted! She sure is a beauty!



35 views0 comments
bottom of page