top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

WINGS: Flap parts priming

Prime Time! But before we can do that, we need to debur, scuff and wash all the flap parts. This is the mindless minutia that takes more time than I prefer but it is essential to a quality finished product. What is it they say? 90% of any good project is in the preparation? Then again, I've herd that 76% of all statistics are made up on the spot. :)

So it isn't evident how many rivet holes there are in the flaps until you have to debur them. I did a quick estimate and tallied upwards of 1400 holes in a single flap's worth of materials. That's not to say there are 1400 rivets (probably around 800), but then multiple x2 as you need to debur each side of each hole and you've got over 2800 debur actions PER FLAP! Add the edge and lightening hole deburring, and you've got a sizable effort, as mundane as it may be. So I put on one of my favorite Pandora channels and got to it!

After using Scotch Brite pads on the parts, I gave all of them a Dawn dish washing liquid bath, dried and laid them out in order for priming. I find this helpful as, even though the Sharpie markings on each part are still visible through the primer, I like to account for them before hand in the event anything gets covered up with too thick a primer coat. After drying, I brought all the parts inside and arranged them again in assembly order. All parts accounted for.

I concentrated on the left flap assembly before prepping and priming the right flap parts as I really wanted to get enough done to start riveting in the evenings during the week. This time of year, I need to take advantage of any of those warmer weekend days to prime as it gets dark and cold before I leave the office during the week. Plus, an upcoming weekend trip suggests I won't get another opportunity to shoot primer for another 2 weeks. By then I should have the left flap fully assembled and the right flap parts prepped. Hoping the weather cooperates, otherwise I may need to figure out an indoor priming tent. Not excited about this, but I guess, if built correctly, it could satisfy my priming needs for the wing parts before the warmer weather returns in the Spring.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page