top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

ELECTRICAL: EarthX Battery Box Modification & Install

Updated: Aug 27, 2019

I bought the EarthX aluminum battery box for my firewall. It comes as a fixed position box with pre-formed flanges to mount to the firewall. Because of its mounting location close to the engine mount, and proximity to other accessories on the FW, I decided to modify it to allow it to hinge open. This will allow direct installation and removal of the battery.

I started by cutting off the flanges and the face of the box about 1/2" back on each side. I installed hinge rows on both sides and made the left side fixed. The right side has the removable pin and a retaining clip. I also fashioned some heavier angle for the FW mount and flush riveted the box fame to those FW angle mounts. I test fit and painted the box with high temp engine paint (red, to match the cylinder push rods) and temporarily mounted it to the wall.

I'll wait to order the actual EarthX battery until closer to completion. I'll probably add some Teflon anti-chaffe tape on the interior of the box to take up any dimensional slop and protect the battery from rubbing or movement.


Completed battery box mounted to temporary plexi firewall template




40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page