top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

WHEELS and BRAKES: Gear Jack Lifting Brackets

Following the advice of some fellow builders, I constructed some jack lifting points out of 3"x3"x.25" 6061-T6 aluminum angle. I started with the design on the GlastarNet forums but decided to adjust for my aircraft and set the pitch parallel to the ground when in the tail-down stance it'll have when sitting on the ramp. I also tapped the support flange with a 12-24 thread to accept a 12-24 screw as a means by which to keep the jack point from sliding off a jack.

I constructed from some spare cardboard a reversible template and determined the shape, bolt pattern and center holes and then fabricated the brackets. When finished, painted and installed, they look fantastic. And they function well. But getting a jack under the lifting point with the 5" wheels and tires may be a challenge.




22 views0 comments
bottom of page