top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

WHEELS and BRAKES: Installing Braided Stainless Brake Lines

On the advice of others, I purchased some custom length stainless Teflon braided brake lines from Pegasus Racing. I used some semi-flexible sprinkler drip line to approximate the routes from the wheels to the pedal mounted master cylinders, then between the L/R master cylinders, and on to the brake reservoir. I ended up with varying lengths to ensure proper routing, a little wiggle room, but only where necessary as weight is a concern here.

I included a 90 degree elbow right where the gear leg lines enter he fuselage. This will allow for swapping out to a tricycle gear (not that I plan to do this ever) or replacing the gear-mounted line should it ever fail.

I mounted the brake reservoir up high on the pilot side as prescribed in the installation manual. Some Adel clamps hold that assembly in place quite well. And it is still serviceable in that location.


23 views0 comments
bottom of page