top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

ENGINE: Conical Engine Mount

The engine mount for my Glastar is a little special since the IOX-340 engine I have requires a Conical mount. This is unusual in that most contemporary engines use a Dynafocal Type I or II mount. Rumor has it the Conical style are more prone to vibration. But in my case, I purchased a set of bolt-through vibration isolators which should reduce that a little. The composite Whirl Wind constant speed prop ought to help a little there are well.

Fitting the engine mount to the firewall went smoothly with only a little pulling to align some of the holes. There are also spacers required for the lowest two mount locations. These take up the space if you are not planning to install the float mounts.

Now I can start playing with the placement of FWF accessories.



39 views0 comments
bottom of page