top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

ENGINE: Installing a Straight Oil Filter Adapter

My motor came with a right angle adapter to make it easier and cleaner to remove the oil filter. Unfortunately, the conical engine mount conflicted with that adapter and I needed to swap it for a straight adapter. Not perfect but still adequate for performing tidy oil changes every 50 hours.

The challenge began, however, when I recognized the straight adapter's Vernatherm cylinder and filter flange conflicted with accessing and tightening the lower 2 studs on the mount. For both left and right sides, the magnetos were in the way so I needed to remove those to gain access to the oil filter studs and nuts to fasten the oil filter adapter.

I made a note to replace the star washers on the stud mounts for the magnetos since I backed the nuts off from their torqued settings. New 5/16" star washers and a re-torque on the magneto mounts will occur once I know they're not coming off again!



57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page