top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

WING: Aileron assembly begun

Updated: Aug 20, 2019

It's taken quite a bit longer than expected to get the shop to where I can work efficiently and comfortably, but it is finally there! Labor Day weekend (and a few days preceding it) have seen the most significant build effort since the acquisition of kit #5788. So far I am enthusiastic about the quality of the construction manual and the builder support on the GlastarNet forums. Rarely any questions and, when they do arise, I can usually get a reply within hours via the forums.

Some parts prep and basic assembly earlier in the week prepped me for a BIG Saturday. Today I mated and drilled all the ribs and spars for both the left and the right ailerons. I did all that and even managed to fit the left aileron bottom skin in between the yard work and dinner time. But I can see how folks justify pneumatic cleco pliers! I feel like with my left hand I couldn't dent a soda can but with my right arm I could crush a Volkswagon! Definitely need to work on the ambidexterousity! (??)

The only part of this effort so far with which I am not in 100% agreement is the dimpling of the nutplates. It seems like the flanges get mis-shsapen when hitting them with the squeezer, even with a ground down dimple die set. Maybe this just is the way it is. But I managed to straighten them out afterwards. Final riveting will tell me if I have it right.

Working on the left aileron skins now so I will take some time out next to add the anti-servo tab. Because the original factory build version was scratched beyond my satisfaction, I need to construct more of it than expected. Shouldn't be too difficult, but definitely frustrated with Glasair for not turning out a better pre-assembled product. Stay tuned for more....



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page