top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Catterson

WINGS: Aileron riveting

I spent the late morning and most of the afternoon riveting the the ailerons together. I applied some of the tricks and plans sequence adjustments I learned from the right aileron to the left assembly to speed the process.

I almost forgot to install the Click Bond nutplate for the anti-servo tab hinge retainer screw but caught myself just in time. It pays to look over the instructions and not do too much from memory...sort of like a checklist!

Not 100% satisfied with the trailing edges on either aileron. A bit more "wave" to them than I would prefer, but something that shouldn't effect the flying qualities too noticeably. Because these are the first full components I constructed, I expected there would be some quality ramp-up. If I am REALLY that freaked out about this as the build progresses, I wouldn't think twice about rebuilding them (or having them built again). But I read somewhere on the GlastarNet forums that this scrutiny 'softens' over time. We shall see.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page